top of page

Joel Williams Interview

This year I interviewed Joel Williams at WDUN. These are the questions that I asked him and his response.

  1. What got you interested to broadcasting? My dad was a big radio listener so we listened at home, at his business and when he traveled. In his travels he had several stations preset so I got to listen to a variety of station in different cities and that had a big impact.

2. Did you go to school to become a broadcaster?

Actually I started while a senior in high school and thankfully have had a job in radio since. Broadcasting schools are good but on the job training is best. I attended Piedmont College and speech was my favorite class. Writing classes are also important.

3. What was the funniest moment that you have had on the radio?

Working an evening shift at EZ 104 in Richmond, Va. I had a five minute song playing and decided to go outside, three floor down, to check out the snow that was falling. When I attempted to open the door to go back in it was locked and the key was upstairs in the control room. Talk about having your life flash before your eyes. All I knew to do was pray and believe you me, it worked! I made it back to the control room as the song was ending. Thank The Lord!

4. Who would you consider a roll model in your career?

Several but the biggest influence has been Sam Church. Sam and I are from the same hometown of Clarkesville. Being seven years older he was already in radio and was larger than life to me. He recommended me for my first two jobs in radio and then I worked for him at three stations in Georgia, South Carolina and Virginia. I can't thank him enough.

5. What’s your favorite part about working at WDUN?

Wow! There are so many things I enjoy about my job. I am afforded so many opportunities but the best part of being on WDUN is the station's involvement with so many listeners and activities in the communities we serve.

6. What’s your biggest achievement in your career?

I am not sure I have achieved anything but would say I have been very blessed to be in radio since high school. To work in different formats and with some great people has been such an honor. If pressed I would say my ten seasons as producer on the UGA Football Network was a dream come true, especially working with the legendary Larry Munson and Loran Smith.

7. Is being a broadcaster always been your career choice?

I guess you could say that. I was 12 when I received a cassette recorder for Christmas and I would record commercials using newspaper ads for material.

8. Is there anything that you would change at WDUN? If so, what?

Interesting question. I will always have programming ideas and thoughts for all radio stations because it's so much fun but to answer your question I would like to see improvements to our FM signal to the south of Gainesville. It would require engineering experts and the FCC but would be a fun challenge.

9. Do you have any other passions other than broadcasting?

If not in radio I would have a career in produce distribution and or trucking. Like radio they are both immediate as to product and service.

10. What’s one tip that you could give to anyone that wants to become a broadcaster?

Do not be detoured....from getting your first job to any aspect you want to achieve in medium that is deep and wide.


Featued Posts 
Recent Posts 
Find Me On
  • Facebook Long Shadow
  • Twitter Long Shadow
  • YouTube Long Shadow
  • Instagram Long Shadow
Other Favotite PR Blogs
Serach By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page